Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

College and University Trustee Screening Commission



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: CollegeandUniversity@scsenate.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 10, 2021

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission has received **LETTERS OF INTENT** from the candidates listed below. Completed applications for these seats are due no later than Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 12:00 noon. By law, the election for these seats cannot be held prior to April 1, 2022. The election date must be set by resolution of the General Assembly.

South Carolina State University

5th Congressional District - Seat 5

- term expires June 30, 2026

- Abigail Busby-Webb, Sumter
- Darrell Johnson, Clover
- Thomas E. Thompson, Rock Hill

-XX-

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Kirkman Finlay, III Representative James H. "Jay" Lucas